• Log in
  • FREE Shipping on all skimboards to continental USA


    2022 Zap World Championships (Saturday/Sunday Recap)

    After an exciting first day on Friday, the weekend at the Zap World Championships in Dewey Beach presented great waves and tons of action!

    On Saturday, all the prelims were covered for all divisions. It was a very long day of Competition that spanned from 8 AM to 7 PM. In the Mens Professional division, rounds 2 and 3 were completed which set the stage for Quarter Finals on Sunday. Zap team riders that advanced through Saturday was Yahir Valencia and Bruno Sa. In the Women's Professional division, the Semi Finals were run that saw Zap team riders Casey Kiernan, Sydney Pizza, Alex Yokely, and Emma Okienowski all advancing to the Final day. The competition in all the divisions was super stiff and there was many close heats separated by narrow margins.

    Moving to the Finals day on Sunday the waves shaped up to be the best conditions of the weekend. We had our first dose of the classic Dewey south swell that made for ideal conditions for all the Finals. We jumped right into the Quarter Finals of the Mens Professional division for the first heats of the day. Zap team riders Yahir Valencia and Bruno Sa both advanced their way into the Semi Finals. 

    In the Semi Finals of the Mens Professional division, Lucas Fink edged out Bruno Sa and Yahir Valencia got the best of Dane Cameron to meet Lucas Fink in the Final. In the 3rd/4th heat, Bruno Sa took the win over Dane Cameron to clinch the 3rd Place spot to round out a solid weekend for Bruno. The Final between Yahir and Lucas was one for the books. Both the riders were going back to back the whole heat and it was a super hard one to judge who was going to take the top spot. In the end, Lucas Fink beat Yahir Valencia by 0.100 to claim the Victory at the Zap World Championships. We are super proud of the performances from both Yahir Valencia and Bruno Sa. They held it down all weekend. 

    In the Women's Professional Division, the final match ups were set with Sydney Pizza/Emma Okienowski battling for 3rd/4th and Casey Kiernan/Alex Yokely going for 1st/2nd place. All the ladies brought their best performances with them on Finals day with Casey Kiernan claiming the top spot on the Podium at the Zap World Championships! Alex Yokely claimed 2nd, Sydney Pizza in 3rd, and Emma Okienowski in 4th. Great job ladies!

    We want to give a shout out to all the Zap team riders in the Amateur divisions that made it to the podium. There are quite a few to note but we are super stoked for all of them! It is one big family that we have here at ZAP! 

    Thank you to all the volunteers at Skim USA and Jason Wilson for organizing another fantastic Zap World Championships. We are always so honored to be the headline sponsor at this great event and look forward to it every year. We believe this was the largest skimboard event to date with 195 competitors and what a special way to celebrate the 40th Anniversary of this event! 

    See you next weekend at the Florida Pro/Am in Vilano Beach!

    Saturday Photos:

    Sunday Photos:

    Podium Photos:

    Volunteer of the Year Award

    Wendy Caputo and Jon Desperig

    Minis Division

    1st Giorgio Tomasi (Team Zap)

    2nd Jake Joseph Kramedas

    3rd Gus Lantz

    4th Brody Chandler-Thompson

    Menehune Division

    1st Thomas James Hernandez

    2nd Charlie Wick

    3rd Connor Andrew Kramedas

    4th Connor Kurtz


    1st Eve Redefer

    2nd Elizabeth Amador

    3rd Karina D'Iorio

    4th Reece Lily Henichek

    Junior Women

    1st Calla Privor

    2nd Kallea Taylor Eleazar

    3rd Taegen Forester

    4th Alyssa Jade Klase

    Boys Division

    1st Colton Ettwein

    2nd Cooper Forcucci

    3rd Liam Barnes

    4th Dennis Hall

    Junior Mens Division

    1st Josh Wright

    2nd Jack Huss

    3rd Sammy DiEmidio

    4th Sean Newbert

    Womens Division

    1st Rylea Sinex

    2nd Avery Ritchey

    3rd Kate Cavanaugh

    4th Alissa Buck

    Mens Division

    1st Zeke Williams (Team Zap)

    2nd ET Beaugrand (Team Zap)

    3rd Dylan Duncan (Team Zap)

    4th Finn Forcucci (Team Zap)

    Senior Men Division

    1st Alex Farrell (Team Zap)

    2nd Tyler Hodges

    3rd TJ Brewer

    4th Trevor George

    Masters Division

    1st Dan Brown

    2nd Thomas Camacho

    3rd Matt Bucci

    4th Justin Szymkowiak

    Grandmasters Division

    1st Jesse Burlew

    2nd Frank Fernandez

    3rd Martel Tillman

    4th Taylor hayden

    Senior Grandmasters Division

    1st Joe Ward

    2nd Chip Sanders (Team Zap)

    3rd Toby S West

    4th John Hall

    Legends Division

    1st Masaya Omaki

    2nd Charles L. Haines "Tex"

    3rd Wally Seim

    4th Jason Todd Gillentine

    Semi-Pro Division

    1st Josh Wright

    2nd Sean Newbert

    3rd Dylan Duncan

    4th ET Beaugrand (Team Zap)

    Skim USA Tour Champions!

    Womens Professional Division

    1st Casey Kiernan (Team Zap)

    2nd Alex Yokely (Team Zap)

    3rd Sydney Pizza (Team Zap)

    4th Emma Okienowski (Team Zap)

    Mens Professional Division

    1st Lucas Fink

    2nd Yahir Valencia (Team Zap)

    3rd Bruno Sa (Team Zap)

    4th Dane Cameron

    Older Post
    Newer Post

    Leave a comment

    Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

    Close (esc)


    Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

    Age verification

    By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.


    Your cart is currently empty.
    Shop now